SA International Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > EnRoute FAMILY > General EnRoute
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Problems with 3.2 ??
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Problems with 3.2 ??

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
tgm View Drop Down
Master
Master


Joined: 19 November 2004
Location: USA
Points: 379
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tgm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Problems with 3.2 ??
    Posted: 16 July 2005 at 1:35am
Just loaded in 3.2 update this week and have had nothing but
trouble. First file out of the gate was a sheet with drilled holes. I
ran this file before 3.2 and processing time for the sheet was 10
to 12 min. Ran same sheet using 3.2 and it took 30 min. plus. It
seems that the output set the drill to stall/ pause at each
location for seconds before plunging and seconds after
retracting, as if it was running in slow motion. Re loaded 3.1
and ran the exact same file in the usual 10 min. Definitely and
output problem of some kind.
The upgrade also trashed my tool library. What a pain to re-
create.! I ended up re-toolpathing most of todays saved work
because of the library fiasco. This will only to continue to haunt
us on all of our saved .rou files until we re-do the library exactly
as it was prior to the upgrade.
The output was a Multicam G code.
Has anyone else experienced any other problems??
Thanks guys.

tom in pa
Back to Top
bhdavis View Drop Down
Professional
Professional


Joined: 20 December 2004
Location: USA
Points: 75
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bhdavis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 July 2005 at 7:10pm
Tom,

I installed the upgrade and couldn't tell any difference between 3.1 and 3.2 at all. No problems whatsoever.

Did you reset your machine preferences after the upgrade? Sounds like you must have though as you got things back to normal with the reinstall of ver.3.1.

Also, it is always a good idea when upgrading Enroute to copy all your .ini files to a temp directory before the upgrade. Then copy /paste them back into the Enroute root directory so they overwrite the default newly installed versions.

BH Davis
Back to Top
bhdavis View Drop Down
Professional
Professional


Joined: 20 December 2004
Location: USA
Points: 75
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bhdavis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 July 2005 at 7:12pm
Tom,

Another thought. Do you backup your computer on a regular basis? If so you might be able to pull your tool library .ini file off of a backup.

BH Davis
Back to Top
draap View Drop Down
Professional
Professional


Joined: 13 July 2004
Location: USA
Points: 62
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote draap Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 July 2005 at 9:00am
Tom, every few weeks I make a back up of my .ini files for Enroute that way I always have something to fall back on. There should be default settings in your machine setup for pause and speed I wonder if they are different now than they were before you upgraded.
Back to Top
tgm View Drop Down
Master
Master


Joined: 19 November 2004
Location: USA
Points: 379
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tgm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 July 2005 at 1:44pm

draap,

I checked the settings for pause and speed, that's the first thing that came to mind, and all parameters were the same.

bh,

I will be backing up my .ini files prior to anymore upgrade scenarios.

Thanks for the suppport,

 

tom in pa

Back to Top
Hasign View Drop Down
Master
Master

Staff

Joined: 13 July 2004
Location: USA
Points: 180
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hasign Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 July 2005 at 2:20pm
Tom,

I am thinking that maybe your drill bank was not activated maybe? Did you notice if the machine was using the boring system at all in 3.2? Maybe because your driver and .ini files were not updated, you were not using the driver copied from 3.1. If you view the G Code (output file) from both versions are they identical? Please send them to me (hasigng@scanvecamiable.com). I look forward to hearing from you.

Hasign
Back to Top
burth View Drop Down
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 September 2005
Location: USA
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote burth Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 November 2005 at 11:57am

Tom,

We have experienced a similar problem with open contours cutting dadoes in plywood.  The head goes to the location, raises very very slowly, slowly plunges and then works correctly.  It sure slows things down for no apparent reason.

Back to Top
tgm View Drop Down
Master
Master


Joined: 19 November 2004
Location: USA
Points: 379
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tgm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 November 2005 at 6:57pm

Burth,

We recently installed the 3.2 updater only, after saving our .ini files and it seems to work OK. We are not getting the wierd outputs that we described when we installed 3.2 complete.

Try it. Just save those ini files as bh and draap describe above.

Good Luck,

Tom in PA

Back to Top
slicko View Drop Down
Professional
Professional
Avatar

Joined: 02 April 2005
Location: USA
Points: 64
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote slicko Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 December 2005 at 11:45pm

But hows the upgrade score????? 1-5 I havent seen anything on i yet(far as hands on stuff) Is it worth putting on (3.2)

Steveo

Back to Top
Hasign View Drop Down
Master
Master

Staff

Joined: 13 July 2004
Location: USA
Points: 180
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hasign Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 December 2005 at 1:04pm
Send an email to "hasigng@scanvecamiable.com" and I will se to it that you get a copy of the differences and additions of 3.2 compared to earlier versions.

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.03
Copyright ©2001-2015 Web Wiz Ltd.