SA International Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > EnRoute FAMILY > General EnRoute
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Double Toolpaths?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Double Toolpaths?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
FastSignsZach View Drop Down
Apprentice
Apprentice
Avatar

Joined: 15 December 2016
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FastSignsZach Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Double Toolpaths?
    Software: OtherEnroute 6  Level:
    Posted: 29 March 2017 at 9:05am
Hello,

So we're creating some "sandblasted" looking parking signs out of PVC using a rapid texture. We set a  toolpath around the letters and border to cut with the same bit after the rapid texture path is complete to clean up the sign. The problem arises here, although its not really a problem, we'd like to know why its happening. When it goes to run the cleanup path it cuts twice. The second time just floating along at the same toolpath not cutting anything. We checked our toolpath settings, strategy, and plan and can't seem to find why it's running twice. Any insight into this would be much appreciated!

Thanks
FSZ
FSZach
Back to Top
Todd Zuercher View Drop Down
Master
Master


Joined: 16 April 2010
Location: United States
Points: 145
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Todd Zuercher Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Software: OtherEnroute 6  Level:
    Posted: 29 March 2017 at 11:03am
Is it possible that there is two identical objects on top of each other both with the same tool path?
Back to Top
paloalto_17 View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 29 October 2012
Location: United States
Points: 233
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote paloalto_17 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Software: OtherEnroute 6  Level:
    Posted: 29 March 2017 at 11:34am
FasatSignsZach,
One thing to remember about Enroute when cutting 3D or Rapid texture is that the software does not know that you have removed material. So sometimes this can happen where some material has been removed and the user would expect the tool to just cut it off in one pass. The problem is that Enroute cannot project what material has been removed when applying tool paths so it assumes there is still material there when there is not. 
A good way to get around this would be to make the height of your clean up tool taller so that Enroute things that it can do the whole thing in one pass. This is helpful in cases where you know you have already removed material and want to avoid cutting passes in the air. 

Best Regards, 
Aaron
Back to Top
FastSignsZach View Drop Down
Apprentice
Apprentice
Avatar

Joined: 15 December 2016
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FastSignsZach Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Software: OtherEnroute 6  Level:
    Posted: 29 March 2017 at 11:52am
This was close to my original thought. Do you know a good way to check this without having to grab and move paths/parts?
FSZach
Back to Top
FastSignsZach View Drop Down
Apprentice
Apprentice
Avatar

Joined: 15 December 2016
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FastSignsZach Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Software: OtherEnroute 6  Level:
    Posted: 29 March 2017 at 11:54am
Originally posted by Todd Zuercher Todd Zuercher wrote:

Is it possible that there is two identical objects on top of each other both with the same tool path?


This was close to my original thought. Do you know a good way to check this without having to grab and move paths/parts?
FSZach
Back to Top
paloalto_17 View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 29 October 2012
Location: United States
Points: 233
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote paloalto_17 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Software: OtherEnroute 6  Level:
    Posted: 30 March 2017 at 6:32pm
FastSignsZach,
 One way you can check would be to remove the toolpath then select the line and then hit delete, usually if there is a duplicate line Enroute will only allow you to select the one on top. If you delete the top one and there is still a line then you have a duplicate. If not then also make sure to ungroup in case they were grouped. 

Best Regards,
Aaron
Back to Top
Todd Zuercher View Drop Down
Master
Master


Joined: 16 April 2010
Location: United States
Points: 145
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Todd Zuercher Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Software: OtherEnroute 6  Level:
    Posted: 01 April 2017 at 12:45pm
Originally posted by FastSignsZach FastSignsZach wrote:

Originally posted by Todd Zuercher Todd Zuercher wrote:

Is it possible that there is two identical objects on top of each other both with the same tool path?


This was close to my original thought. Do you know a good way to check this without having to grab and move paths/parts?


Yes Just select the tool path, then in the tool path window click on edit plan.  That will show you if there  are more than one tool path generated on that one object.

To see if there are two identical objects on top of each other.  The best option is to select one with a click on one (to select it, then  press (CTRL+u) a few times to be sure you only get one, un-select and re-select again (with a single click not dragging a box) and see if you can drag off a layer. 

It isn't the best way to fix the problem if there are a lot of them, but it is the simplest way to confirm if that is the problem. 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.03
Copyright ©2001-2015 Web Wiz Ltd.