SA International Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > EnRoute FAMILY > General EnRoute
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 3D  Bridges
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

3D Bridges

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
tgm View Drop Down
Master
Master


Joined: 19 November 2004
Location: USA
Points: 374
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tgm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 3D Bridges
    Posted: 05 October 2006 at 12:17pm

Are there plans in a future release to have the option of 3D tabs which do not require the tool

to stop, dwell, retract, move, stop, dwell and advance?

The type of 2D bridge currently in use in Enroute really causes havoc when using small cutters

and hard materials such as using a 1/4" dia cutter in solid surface material.

We have also had to clean out divots on solid hardwood parts also.

Most other programs feature the option of a 2D or 3D bridge depending on the application.

Any thoughts from the Enroute gurus??

 

Thanks guys,

 

Tom in PA

Back to Top
Andy K View Drop Down
Expert
Expert


Joined: 26 November 2005
Location: United States
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Andy K Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 October 2006 at 2:24pm

Tom,

Are you describing a bridge cut in one fluid motion, kind of like a ramp up then a ramp down?

If so that would be a welcome addition!

Andy K

Back to Top
tgm View Drop Down
Master
Master


Joined: 19 November 2004
Location: USA
Points: 374
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tgm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 October 2006 at 12:21pm

Andy,

Yes that's it. It's available in other programs and I have used it and it works perfectly and eliminates the unsightly burns and or divots as the cutter relaxes while retracting. I just spent and inordinate amount of time cleaning some plywood pieces we had cut on Friday that were tabbed due to their shape.

Andy, I think you are using VCarve also and it is used there and listed as a 3D bridge / tab under the profile toolpath option. Run a small test file and zoom in on the tab and you will see ramp up / ramp down area of the toolpath in the simulation.

Thanks,

Tom in PA

Back to Top
tgm View Drop Down
Master
Master


Joined: 19 November 2004
Location: USA
Points: 374
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tgm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 November 2006 at 7:26pm

Anyone from SAI want to tackle this query??

Thanks,

Tom in PA

Back to Top
tgm View Drop Down
Master
Master


Joined: 19 November 2004
Location: USA
Points: 374
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tgm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 November 2006 at 7:28pm

This 3D tab feature is showing up in even the cheapest of toolpathing programs these days. Are we ever going to get it in a future Enroute release??

I have used it and it definitely makes a huge difference in the finished parts.

Any thoughts??

Thanks,

Tom in PA

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.03
Copyright ©2001-2015 Web Wiz Ltd.